Brad Vickers & His Vestapolitans – The Music Gets Us Thru (2021)

Brad Vickers & His Vestapolitans - The Music Gets Us Thru (2021)
Artist: Brad Vickers & His Vestapolitans
Album: The Music Gets Us Thru
Label: Man Hat Tone
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)

1. Dumb Like A Fox (1:59)
2. Take It Slow (4:08)
3. Please Don’t Say (3:36)
4. Big Wind (3:54)
5. I’ll Never Let You Go (2:26)
6. The Music Gets Us Thru (3:44)
7. Now It’s Time For Me To Sing The Blues (3:18)
8. What In The World (3:22)
9. Grab My Car Keys (3:51)
10. I’ll Be Sittin’, I’ll Be Rockin’ (3:54)
11. Birds On My Family Tree (3:39)
12. When I Am Drinking (2:54)


“The guitarist continues to distill his beautiful notes for an audience fond of blues, roots ’n’ roll, and American music, offering a subtle mix of original pieces and neat covers in which he strives to infuse a little of his personality and his particular style. Brad Vickers put this new cake in the oven just before the first lockdown and has endeavored to offer an anthology of pieces in which he pays homage to an entire, very wide artistic palette. Looking from time to time to the other side of the Delta, but also regularly towards the rhythms coming from Louisiana in general, and New Orleans in particular. We are easily carried away by [original] compositions like “Dumb Like A Fox”, “Big Wind”, “Now It’s Time For Me To Sing The Blues” and “Birds On My Family Tree”, but also by classics like “Take It Slow” by Jimmy Reed, “I’ll Never Let You Go” by Tampa Red, “I’ll Be Sittin’, I’ll Be Rockin’” by Larry Darnell, and of course, “When I’m Drinking” by JB Lenoir. We appreciate the duality of the voices, Brad Vickers’ masculine vocals contrasting with the feminine vocals of Margey Peters, and finally, bringing to “The Music Gets Us Thru” the little cachet [(style)] that suits him so well. Strolling between joie de vivre and melancholy, this new work by Brad Vickers And His Vestapolitans should be a great success upon its release on September 7th!”
Fred Delforge

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.