Jimmy Burns – Back To The Delta (2003)

Jimmy Burns - Back To The Delta (2003)
Artist: Jimmy Burns
Album: Back To The Delta
Label: Delmark
Year Of Release: 2003
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)

1. Back To The Delta
2. Stop The Train
3. Red Hot Mama
4. Stranded In Clarksdale
5. I Wanna Kiss You
6. I Feel Like Going Home
7. Country Boy In The City
8. Groovin’ With Jimmy
9. Who’s Been Using That Thing
10. All About My Woman
11. Nice And Easy
12. Your’re My Desire
13. Someday Baby
14. How Many More Year
15. Yonder Comes Miss Rosey
16. Juke Juke Juked


Jimmy Burns (vocals, guitar)
Kevin Shanahan (guitar)
Roosevelt Purifoy (piano)
Greg Haar, Larry Taylor (drums)

Modern blues fans shouldn’t be turned off by the title of Jimmy Burns’ third release, Back to the Delta. The electric guitar slung over Burns’ back on the cover should be a definite tip-off that this is not a recreation of authentic Delta blues. Burns, who is from the Delta, took his inspiration for this session from blues guitar forefathers of the territory, alongside modern pioneers Muddy Waters, Howlin’ Wolf, and John Lee Hooker. These 16 tracks, the majority of which are Burns’ originals, blend Chicago blues, R&B, and soul with the Delta feel.
Al Campbell

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.