Jimmy Burns – Leaving Here Walking (1996)

Jimmy Burns - Leaving Here Walking (1996)
Artist: Jimmy Burns
Album: Leaving Here Walking
Label: Delmark
Year Of Release: 1996
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)

01. Leaving Here Walking
02. Twelve Year Old Boy
03. Miss Annie Lou
04. Whiskey Headed Woman
05. One Room Country Shack
06. Shake Your Boogie
07. Better Know What You’re Doing
08. Rollin’ and Tumblin’
09. Gypsy Woman
10. How Many Times
11. Mean Mistreating Mama
12. Notoriety Woman
13. Talk To Me
14. Catfish Blue


The younger brother of bluesman Eddie Burns, singer/guitarist Jimmy Burns followed in the family tradition, becoming a staple of Chicago’s West Side club circuit after a long absence from the spotlight. Born February 27, 1943 in Dublin, Mississippi, he cut a handful of singles early in his career, but upon marrying and starting a family, he largely applied the brakes to his musical aspirations to focus on domestic life. Burns performed only rarely in the decades to follow; however, with his children all grown in the early 1990s, he rekindled his career, following up a hard day of operating his barbecue stand by cutting loose with a set of soulful blues at the Smokedaddy, his regular venue. In 1996, at the age of 53, Burns finally issued his long-awaited full-length debut, Leaving Here Walking.
Jason Ankeny

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.