Robert Nighthawk – Sweet Black Angel and More Chicago Blues (2021)

Robert Nighthawk - Sweet Black Angel and More Chicago Blues (2021)
Artist: Robert Nighthawk
Album: Sweet Black Angel and More Chicago Blues
Label: Jasmine Records
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. My Sweet Lovin’ Woman
02. Down the Line
03. Handsome Lover
04. She Knows How to Love a Man
05. (Sweet) Black Angel Blues
06. Anna Lee Blues
07. Return Mail Blues
08. Sugar Papa
09. Good News
10. Six Three O
11. Jackson Town Gal
12. Prison Bound
13. Feel so Bad
14. Kansas City Blues
15. Crying Won’t Help You
16. Take It Easy Baby
17. Nighthawk Boogie
18. Bricks in My Pillow
19. You Missed a Good Man
20. Maggie Campbell
21. The Moon Is Rising
22. Seventy-Four
23. Us/Boogie


Robert Nighthawk was one of the most influential blues guitarists of the post war period, a stature he achieved without the benefit of many hit records.

His song ‘Sweet Black Angel Blues’ became a blues standard when B.B. King covered it as ‘Sweet Little Angel’ and B.B. went on to do the same with ‘Crying Won’t Help You’.

Across the 23 tracks presented here are top blues musicians such as, Roosevelt Sykes, Sunnyland Slim, Willie Dixon, Brownie McGhee and Pinetop Perkins.

Robert Nighthawk was an important and very underappreciated bluesman whose evocative slide guitar influenced a remarkable number of musicians who followed in his wake.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.