Sheba ‘The Mississippi Queen’ – Butter On My Roll (2009)

Sheba 'The Mississippi Queen' - Butter On My Roll (2009)
Artist: Sheba ‘The Mississippi Queen’
Album: Butter On My Roll
Year Of Release: 2009
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Dance Jump Shout
02. Real Good Woman
03. Big Man (4:04)
04. Can’t Help Lovin’ My Man
05. Oh So Good
06. Pourin’ Rain
07. Blues Of My Soul
08. Butter On My Rolls
09. Tell Me Why
10. Don’t Say Goodbye
11. Hay Girlfriend
12. Ms. Good And Plenty
13. Good Good Lovin’


Virtually born to sing, Sheba the Mississippi Queen, aka Martha Booker, inherits a proud legacy of female blues belters, adding her own resonant chapter to the story with her wonderful, uptown-style album, “Butter On My Roll.” Built solidly on a foundation of the blues and Southern R&B, and utilizing a stellar band that includes a truly galvanizing horn section, Sheba the Mississippi Queen refuses to be constrained on this 13-song collection, sprinkling pure jazz (“Can’t Help Lovin My Man”), Southern Soul (“Tell Me Why”), and Funk (“Hay Girlfriend”), and even some classic balladry (“Don’t Say Goodbye”), into the potent mix. But let there be no doubt that Sheba the Mississippi Queen is first and foremost a master blues singer, and on mid-tempo numbers, like the Bessie Smith-infused title track, “Butter on My Rolls,” or on foot-stompers like “Dance Jump Shout” and “Oh So Good,” the singer proves herself more than worthy to join the ranks of successor to the recently departed Queen of Blues, Koko Taylor. Sheba the Mississippi Queen’s “Butter On My Roll” will stand as a first-rate addition to listeners’ collection of outstanding Blues albums.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.