The Holmes Brothers – State Of Grace (2007)

The Holmes Brothers - State Of Grace (2007)
Artist: The Holmes Brothers
Album: State Of Grace
Label: Alligator Records
Year Of Release: 2007
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)

01. Smiling Face Hiding A Weeping Heart (4:04)
02. Close The Door (3:43)
03. (What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love And Understanding? (4:15)
04. Gasoline Drawers (4:42)
05. I Can’t Help It If I’m Still In Love With You (3:20)
06. Bad Moon Rising (2:59)
07. Three Gray Walls (4:21)
08. If I Had A Boat (3:06)
09. Those Memories Of You (2:58)
10. I Want You To Want Me (6:04)
11. Ain’t It Funny What A Fool Will Do (4:00)
12. Standing In The Need Of Love (5:23)
13. I’ve Just Seen The Rock Of Ages (3:25)
14. God Will (2:22)


The Holmes Brothers do what they do supremely well, taking all sorts of music and making it into gospel — a sort of musical equivalent of alchemy. There’s more of it here, plenty of their own material, but with some absolutely glorious covers. They utterly re-imagine Cheap Trick’s perky “I Want You to Want Me” as a piece of ’50s gospel, make country-soul from “I Can’t Help It If I’m Still in Love with You” (with a great vocal from Rosanne Cash), and do delicious things to a pair of Lyle Lovett tunes. It’s good to hear so many covers, actually, not because their own material is weak (anything but!), but rather because they have a special sense of style and a way to extract things from a song that you’d never imagined, as they do with the chestnut “Bad Moon Rising.” With a crack band — and a real tip of the hat goes to multi-instrumentalist Larry Campbell — they’re in top form here, and a few guests, like Levon Helm and Joan Osborne, help keep everything down-home and funky. The Holmes Brothers continue their series of small triumphs here.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.